Current Size: 100%

The Austrian LEAD Study

The Austrian LEAD Study is a longitudinal, observational, epidemiological cohort study aiming to investigate respiratory health through life. The survey includes a representative sample of the Austrian general population between 6 and 80 years of age and focuses on three areas:

  1. Normal and pathologic lung growth and development (natural course of lung function)
  2. Genetic, environmental and socioeconomic risk factors for abnormal lung function
  3. Extrapulmonary manifestations of abnormal lung function and related comorbidities (cardiovascular disease, metabolic disorders, depression and anxiety)

The examination program of the Austrian LEAD Study includes a comprehensive diagnosis of lung function and cardiac status. In addition, body composition (DXA scan), socio-demographic status, psychosocial factors and pollution levels at home and at work are recorded. The examination protocol includes blood and urine samples, which are stored in the biobank of the Medical University of Vienna for later planned analyses. In total, each data set contains more than 1.500 individual parameters. In addition to the extensive urban cohort from the city of Vienna, the sample also includes a smaller rural comparison sample from the surrounding area. A detailed summary of the objectives and methods is included in the publication:

The LEAD (Lung, Heart, Social, Body) Study: Objectives, Methodology, and External Validity of the Population-Based Cohort Study. Breyer-Kohansal R, Hartl S, Burghuber OC, Urban M, Schrott A, Agusti A, Sigsgaard T, Vogelmeier C, Wouters E, Studnicka M, Breyer MK. J Epidemiol 2019;29(8):315–24.

 

 

Current status

The Austrian LEAD Study started in 2012. Between 2012 and 2016 11.426 participants were recruited and completed the first cross-sectional examination. Phase 2 with the first longitudinal examination (4-years follow-up) started in 2017. Until now more than 6000 participants have been re-examined and the second phase is expected to be finished in February 2021. Phase 3 (8-years follow-up) with the second re-examination started in 2021.
 

► For further information please visit the website of the Austrian LEAD Study!

 

Team

Senior researchers

  • Prim.a Assoc. Prof. Sylvia Hartl, MD, MBA
  • Assoc. Prof. Marie-Kathrin Breyer, MD, PhD
  • Assoc. Prof. Robab Breyer-Kohansal, MD
  • Prof. Otto C. Burghuber, MD
  • Prof. Emiel F.M. Wouters, MD

 

Post docs

  • Mag.a Gabriele Kohlböck, DSc
  • Caspar Schiffers, MSc

 

Data management und statistics

  • Mag.a Gabriele Kohlböck, DSc

 

Junior researchers

  • Hazim Abozid, MD
  • Franziska Kölli, MD
  • Tobias Mraz, MD
  • Alina Ofenheimer, MD

 

 

© LBI LH

The Austrian LEAD Study

Die Austrian LEAD Study ist eine longitudinale, epidemiologische Beobachtungsstudie. Ziel ist es, die Entwicklung der Lungengesundheit über die gesamte Lebensspanne zu erforschen. Die Kohortenstudie umfasst eine repräsentative Stichprobe der österreichischen Allgemeinbevölkerung zwischen 6 und 80 Jahren und konzentriert sich auf drei Bereiche:

  1. Normale und pathologische Lungenentwicklung (natürlicher Verlauf der Lungenfunktion)
  2. Risikofaktoren für die Entwicklung abnormaler Lungenfunktion (genetische Faktoren, Umwelteinflüsse, sozioökonomischer Status)
  3. Extrapulmonale Manifestationen abnormaler Lungenfunktion und verbundene Begleiterkrankungen (kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen, Stoffwechselstörungen, Angst und Depression)

Das Untersuchungsprogramm der Austrian LEAD Study beinhaltet eine umfassende Diagnose der Lungenfunktion und des kardialen Status. Erfasst werden zudem Körperzusammensetzung (DXA-Scan), soziodemografischer Status, psychosoziale Faktoren und Schadstoffbelastung am Wohn- und Arbeitsort. Das Untersuchungsprotokoll umfasst Blut- und Urinproben, die für später geplante Analysen in der Biobank der Medizinischen Universität Wien eingelagert werden. Insgesamt beinhaltet jeder Datensatz mehr als 1.500 Einzelparameter. Neben der umfangreichen urbanen Kohorte aus dem Stadtgebiet Wiens, schließt die Stichprobe auch ein kleineres rurales Vergleichssample aus dem Umland ein. Eine detaillierte Zusammenfassung der Ziele und Methoden befindet sich in der Publikation:

The LEAD (Lung, Heart, Social, Body) Study: Objectives, Methodology, and External Validity of the Population-Based Cohort Study.Breyer-Kohansal R, Hartl S, Burghuber OC, Urban M, Schrott A, Agusti A, Sigsgaard T, Vogelmeier C, Wouters E, Studnicka M, Breyer MK. J Epidemiol 2019;29(8):315–24.

 

 

Aktueller Stand

Die Austrian LEAD Study startete im Jahr 2012. Zwischen 2012 und 2016 wurden 11.426 Teilnehmer*innen eingeschlossen. Phase 2 (4-Jahres-Nachuntersuchung) wurde 2017 begonnen und inzwischen von mehr als 6.000 Teilnehmer*innen abgeschlossen. Phase 3 (8-Jahres-Nachuntersuchung) begann im Sommer 2021 und endet 2024.
 

► Nähere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website der Austrian LEAD Study!

 

Team

Senior researchers

  • Prim.a Priv.-Doz.in  Dr.in Sylvia Hartl, MBA
  • Priv.-Doz.in Dr.in Marie-Kathrin Breyer, PhD
  • Priv.-Doz.in  Dr.in Robab Breyer-Kohansal
  • Prof. Dr. Otto C. Burghuber
  • Prof. Dr. Emiel F.M. Wouters

 

Post docs

  • Mag.a Dr.in Gabriele Kohlböck
  • Caspar Schiffers, MSc

 

Data management und statistics

  • Mag.a Dr.in Gabriele Kohlböck

 

Junior researchers

  • Dr. Hazim Abozid
  • Dr.in Franziska Kölli
  • Dr. Tobias Mraz
  • Dr.in Alina Ofenheimer

 

 

© LBI LH